Related: Trinity, Trinity Alumnae

Gratitude III


White coat class of 2017(Trinity student nurses in their white coats October 2017)

We have so much to be grateful for at Trinity!  Continuing this blog series on the many achievements and outstanding work of students, faculty and staff, I want to give a big shout-out of gratitude and appreciation to Trinity Nursing!  Last week we received the great news that CCNE, the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, has renewed accreditation for the BSN program for ten years, and has granted initial accreditation to the MSN program for three years.  This achievement is the result of so much hard work and dedication on the part of Trinity’s Chief Nursing Officer Denise Pope and the Nursing faculty, our students and graduates, Dean of NHP Mary Romanello, Provost Carlota Ocampo, and many others who have supported Nursing through the years.  Thanks and Congratulations!

Dr. Pope gives opening remarks(Dr. Pope gives opening remarks at the white coat ceremony)

Nursing faculty at the white coat ceremony(Thanks to Dr. Denise Pope and the Nursing Faculty, L to R:  Patrice Madufor-Oniyma, Mary Bantell, Carrie O’Reilly, Stephanie Stavish, Kristie Davis, Denise Pope)

Congratulations to all of the new student nurses who received their white coats on October 24!

White coat ceremony

white coat ceremonywhite coat oath ceremony(New nursing students taking the oath at the White Coat Ceremony)

Trinity is also blessed to have a large population of alumnae and alumni who are loyal, generous and tireless in their support for alma mater.  We give thanks for their devotion to Trinity, especially in the ways they help rising generations enjoy the same benefits that we enjoyed in our student days.  This fall we had a special occasion to remember with gratitude an alumna who devoted decades of her life and work to Trinity, the late Anne Marie McGovern ’50 whose daughters Nancy ’78, Sheila and Suzy organized a beautiful day of remembrance and tribute.

McGovern sisters(McGovern Sisters Nancy, Sheila and Suzy)

Alumnae came out in force for the occasion, and we give thanks for their dedication and leadership on Trinity’s behalf:

alumnae group 1

(Above:  Alumnae Suzanne Nolan, Maria Zehren, Annemarie Courtemanche)

(Below:  Alumnae from the Class of 1979 (top) and the Classes of 48, 50 and 52)

Class of 1979Alumnae

(Below:  Current Alumnae Association President Gerry Mpyanga ’99 (L) with former AATC Presidents Pat McGuire ’74, Monica Morgan ’73, Elizabeth Palmer ’92, Ann Philbin ’62, Mary Jane Malone ’56)

Former AATC PresidentsMore notes of Thanksgiving to come, watch this space!

This entry was posted in Trinity, Trinity Alumnae. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Patricia A. McGuire, President, Trinity, 125 Michigan Ave. NE, Washington, DC 20017
Phone: 202.884.9050   Email: