In the section of the “Quiz Settings” screen called “Review options,” you can control which information students can during one of four time periods Moodle recognizes.
- “During the attempt” is while the students are taking the quiz attempt.
- “Immediately after the attempt” means within two minutes of the attempt being finished (when the student hits the ‘Submit’ button).
- “Later, while the quiz is still open” means after the two minutes are up, and before the quiz close date.
- “After the quiz is closed” means after the quiz close date has passed. If the quiz does not have a close date, this state is never reached.
During each of these time windows, you have the option to control what the student sees.
- “The attempt” is the questions and how they answer them.
- “Whether correct” is whether the answer they student chose was correct or not.
- “Marks” is their grade for the entire quiz, as well as individual questions, if the student can see both “The attempt” and “Marks.”
- “Specific feedback” is the feedback that you can include for each answer for a question, right or wrong.
- “General feedback” is the feedback that you can include for each multiple choice question.
- “Right answer” is which response is the correct one for each question.
- “Overall feedback” is the feedback that you can include based on the student’s overall marks for the quiz.
The most common settings I see are:
- “During the attempt” – only “The attempt” is checked.
- “Immediately after the attempt” — “Marks” are checked, so students can see their overall grade. Sometimes, “The attempt” will also be checked. It will show them the questions and mark they earned on that question, but it will not show them what the correct answers are for the questions.
- “Later, while the quiz is still open” — only “Marks” are checked so students can see their grade, but not the content of the quiz so that students couldn’t show their quiz attempt to any other students.
- “After the quiz is closed” — everything is checked. This requires that the quiz have a close date.
If you check a feedback box, but have not entered feedback, there will be no negative effect.