Trinity Logo
Students  Alumnae/i  Faculty/Staff

College of Arts & Sciences | CAS Faculty Events and Academic Calendar

Fall 2015 College of Arts & Sciences Faculty Events

August 2015

Thursday, August 13- Move-In Day for Peer Advisors
Friday, August 14- Move-In Day for Athletes/ Peer Advisors Training
Saturday, August 15- CAS New Student Move-In Day
Sunday, August 16- CAS Residential New Student Programming
Monday, Aug 17- Monday, Aug 25: CAS New Student Orientation
Tuesday, August 18- Term 1 Classes Begin
Friday, August 21- Academic Assembly, 11.30am – Social Hall
Friday, August 21- Monthly Classes Begin
Sunday, August 23- New Returning Student Move-In Day
Monday, August 24- Weekly Classes Begin
Tuesday, August 25- Term 1 Add/ Drop Deadline
Tuesday, August 25- New Student Convocation, 10:00am – Location – Trinity Center
Wednesday- August 26- Day Classes Begin

September 2015

Tuesday, September 1: Term 1 Enrollment Verification Due
Wednesday, September 2: CAS Faculty Meeting – 3pm, Location – TBD
Wednesday, September 2: Day, Weekly, Monthly Add/Drop Deadline
Saturday, September 5- Monday, September 7: Labor Day Weekend (No Class Meetings)
Wednesday, September 9: Day, Weekly, Monthly Enrollment Verification Due
Wednesday, September 9: Workshop: Providing Access to Students with Disabilities -3pm, Rose Parlor
Wednesday, September 9: Faculty Writing Group- 4:30pm, Faculty Lounge
Thursday, September 10: Workshop: The Open Educational Resources Movement- 3pm, Rose Parlor
Monday, September 14- Professional Development Committee Meeting- 4:30pm- Location TBD
Tuesday, September 15- Workshop: Telling Your Story: How to Document Effective Faculty Performance- 3pm, Rose Parlor
Wednesday, September 16- CAS CAP Meeting, 3pm- Main 215
Monday, September 21- Spring 2016 Course Schedule Due to Academic Affairs
Monday, September 21- Program Chairs Meetings, 3pm- Location TBD
Tuesday, September 22: Term 1 Withdrawal Deadline
Tuesday, September 22: Workshop: Bring the Power of Google Drive to Your Teaching
Wednesday, September 23: Papal Visit to Catholic University (Trinity Closed- No Class Meetings)
Thursday, September 24 – Dean’s List Ceremony, 4:30pm – Location – Social Hall
Friday, September 25: Early Alert Deadline
Saturday, September 26- Sunday, September 27- Cap & Gown Weekend
Wednesday, September 30 – Professional Development Plans and Travel Due
Wednesday, September 30- Workshop: DC Public Library in Your Class- 3:30pm, Rose Parlor

October 2015

Saturday, October 3- Friday, October 9- Day and Weekly Mid-Term Assessments
Monday, October 5 – Professional Development Committee Meeting – 4:30pm- Location TBD
Wednesday, October 7- CAS Faculty Meeting, 3pm- Location TBD
Thursday, October 8- Workshop: DC Public Library In Your Class- 3:30pm, Rose Parlor
Friday, October 9- Term 1 Classes End
Saturday, October 10- Monday, October 12- Columbus Day Weekend (No Class Meetings)
Tuesday, October 13- Term 1 and Mid-Term Grades Due
Tuesday, October 13- Workshop: The Principles and Practice of Effective Classroom Discussions- 3pm, Rose Parlor
Wednesday, October 14- Term 2 Classes Begin
Wednesday, October 14- Workshop: Critical Reading in the Content Area- 3pm, Rose Parlor
Wednesday, October 14- Faculty Writing Group- 4:30pm, Faculty Lounge
Friday, October 16 – Sabbatical & Tenure Application Due
Monday, October 19 – Program Chairs Meetings, 3pm- Location TBD
Wednesday, October 21- Term 2 Add/Drop Deadline
Wednesday, October 21- CAS CAP Meeting, 3pm- Main 215
Monday, October 26- Spring 2016 Book Orders Due
Wednesday, October 28- Term 2 Enrollment Verification Due

November 2015

Monday, November 2- Professional Development Committee Meeting- 4:30pm, Location TBD (Tentative)
Monday, November 2- Registration for Winter/Spring 2016
Wednesday, November 4- CAS Faculty Meeting, 3pm- Location TBD
Monday, November 9- Day, Weekly, Monthly Withdrawal Deadline
Tuesday, November 10- Workshop: Effective Assessment in the Digital Age- 3pm, Rose Parlor
Wednesday, November 11- Faculty Writing Group- 4:30pm, Faculty Lounge
Thursday, November 12- Junior Ring Ceremony
Monday, November 16 – Program Chairs Meetings, 3pm- Location TBD (Tentative)
Tuesday, November 17- Workshop: Telling Your Story: How to Document Effective Faculty Performance – 3pm, Rose Parlor
Wednesday, November 18- CAS CAP Meeting, 3pm- Main 215 (Tentative)
Wednesday, November 18- Term 2 Withdrawal Deadline
Wednesday, November 25- Saturday, November 28- Thanksgiving Break (No Class Meetings)

December 2015

Wednesday, December 2- CAS Faculty Meeting, 3.00pm – Location TBD
Friday, December 4- Day Classes End
Saturday, December 5 – Monthly Classes End
Monday, December 7- Professional Development Committee Meeting, 4:30pm- Location TBD
Monday, December 7- Saturday, December 12- Final Exams
Wednesday, December 9- Faculty Writing Group- 4:30pm, Faculty Lounge
Saturday, December 12- Term 2 Weekly Classes End
Monday, December 14 – Program Chairs Meetings, 3pm- Location TBD
Wednesday, December 16- CAS CAP Meeting, 3pm- Main 215
Wednesday, December 16- Final Grades Due

January 2016

Monday, January 4- Winter Term Begins
Friday, January 8- Winter Graduation
Saturday, January 9- Winter Term Ends
Wednesday, January 13- Winter Term Grades Due
Friday, January 15- New Student Orientation
Monday, January 18: Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday Weekend (No Class Meetings)
Tuesday, January 19: Weekly and Term 1 Classes Begin
Wednesday, January 20: Day Classes Begin
Friday, January 22: Monthly Classes Begin


Connect with Trinity: Interested in attending Trinity? Please visit our Office of Admissions.

About

Visit

Getting to Campus

Directions to Campus

Parking on Campus

Campus Map

Shuttle from Brookland Metro

Hotels

Campus Tours & Open Houses

Prospective students can request a campus tour by calling 800-492-6882. Learn More

Online Campus Tour

Office of Admissions

Events at Trinity

Meeting & Conference Rentals

Room Rentals

Trinity Center

Calendar of Events

Fitness Center

Brookland residents: learn about discounted memberships at the Trinity Center.

 - Current Fitness Classes

 - Facilities

Schools

CAS Programs

EDU Programs

NHP Programs

SPS Programs

BGS Programs

Academic Life

Offices

Student Life